Archive for January 10th, 2008

Eye Candy From Across The Pond

visualpollutionkennethfry.jpg

Dan Barry took a trip with Kenneth Fry and photographer Ángel Franco and as a result wrote an article entitled A Place Just Like Every Other Place. Only Not. that was published by The New York Times on Dec23rd 2007. This video is part of that article addressing the problem of visual pollution in the States. “Kenneth Fry is the president of Scenic America, and organization that works to preserve and enhance the visual character of America’s communities. The visual pollution they try to address can be found almost anywhere/…”

We should not point any fingers at US because of this but rather realize that this might happen/ is happening in Europe as well, and as future architects and city planners it is our duty to design with conscience. Also check out the James Howard Kunstler’s talk about The Clusterfuck Nation. Holy ugly shit, now my eyes are hurting. If you ever design something like that, I shall poke you in the eye repeatedly with a rusty fork.

Alan Watts | Music and Life

You might have seen this already, it’s not new, but since I’ve posted the talk of Sir Ken Robinson the other day, I may as well post this one too. If nothing else, it has a shoutparkish feel to it and his voice is pleasant.

Paulistano Armchair | 1957

paulistanoarmchair.jpg

In 1957 the Brazilian architect Paulo Mendes da Rocha designed the Paulistano armchair for the Paulistano Athletic Club in São Paulo. The simplicity of the design and the chair’s comfort puts him alongside the other modern classic furniture pieces. There are hardly 300 in the whole world and this year it became a part of the permanent collection at the MoMA. It was produced by Objekto and will be shown by their team at the International Furnishing Show in Cologne.

(via: designboom)

I’d Rather Be Surfing

bustindownthedoor.jpg

But, but, but… this is not about architecture or any other profoundly important profession that the whole world evolves around!?

Today, a post at notcot triggered my imagination…again. I cursed Ljubljana’s gloomy weather a million times, and couldn’t wait to get my ass home from work. Bustin’ down the door is a new documentary covering the beginnings of what is known today as the surf culture. Check out the trailer here. I mean, you don’t have to, this is just me wishing to be somewhere else like um… I don’t know in Perth with my girl Ursa? =) Yeah, THAT would be GREAT. But instead I’ll go lie down on my bed in a fetal position and weep while my surfboard is getting invaded by the dust bunnies.

(via: notcot)

How Rich Are You?

globalrichlist.jpg

Click on the image above to find out how well you’re doing. If you want you can also check out the Channel4 rich-o-meter and see how rich you are in the UK.

(thanks Primoz)

Ring House | TNA

tnaringhouse.jpg

This project was designed by TNA architects and completed in 2006. It’s located in the Nagano Prefecture in the town of Karuizawa on the Owner’s Hill of the Karuizawa woods. Surrounded by thick vegetation, I can imagine that the 360° view that it offers is a zen experience of its own. The house is made out of wood and serves as a weekend house. Recently it has been nominated as Best new private house by Wallpaper*. If Japan keeps producing mesmerizing architecture like that. I’ll be reduced to marrying a Japanese dude and move there. Their suicide rate, however, is a minor factor that scares me about Japan. But hey, I’m Slovenian and I might just be moving on to a better thing =)

/more pictures after the jump

(via: Wallpaper*)

Continue reading ‘Ring House | TNA’

Let’s End The Day With Tyrone

…and tell him come on, help you get your shit.

Goodnight :*

Dombau Köln South Wing Window | Gerhard Richter

gerhardrichterkoeln2.jpg

The German artist Gerhard Richter was asked to fill the more than 100m2 cathedral window with stained glass and you’re looking at what he came up with. Holy pixelated manoly! That’s one fun window. I hear his next big thing will be the blue window of death vitrage followed by a LED altar plasma that repeatedly plays Zero Wing. I’m just playin’ with you Gerhard, I love your work. But seriously though… think about it.

/2 more photos after the jump

(via: Designboom , Dombau Köln)

Continue reading ‘Dombau Köln South Wing Window | Gerhard Richter’


January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Add to Technorati Favorites