Archive for January 31st, 2008

Delta Shelter | Olson Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects

deltashelter.jpg

Olson Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects  from Seattle made this weekend cabin in Mazama, Washington that is located in a floodplain near a river. Because of that they built it on stilts elevating the living area from the ground in case of floods. The facade is made out of steel and glass that can be completely covered by large steel shutters using a hand crank. Neat! I loves me some tiny homes on sticks and this studio appears to have quite a nice bunch of them.
photos1   2   3   4   5   6   7

(via: Monoscope)

The History of Visual Communication

 thehistoryofvisualcommunication1.jpg


”I am very proud of my heritage as a graphic designer. I know that I come from a long line of remarkable individuals from the scribes of ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia to the medieval book makers, from the likes of Aldus Manutius to the constructivist El Lisitzky. They are my friends and colleagues. I look to them for instruction, for guidance, for inspiration. I know that whatever we design today rests upon their shoulders, their genius, their unfailing good judgement and taste. I look at contemporary design and see traces of gothic diminuendo or Renaisance page layout. I hope that learning the history of their craft will inspire the same pride and love in my students…”

A big chunk of information about the history of visual communication. You may be an architecture student, but you should read this and translate it to your own world, learning from your own idols and making the best of the age old knowledge being passed on to you.

Let’s End The Day With Richie Havens

Richie Havens & Groove Armada – Hands of Time

Goodnight :*


January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Add to Technorati Favorites