Solarsiedlung Freiburg | Rolf Disch

solarsiedlung3.jpg
Freiburg am Breisgau is an eco-city in Baden-Württemberg, Germany, and it carries a reputation every city longs to have. It’s also believed to be the warmest city in Germany and it takes full advantage of the solar power it receives. Their public transport is amazing and they’re known for haveing a big pedestrian zone in the city centre where no cars are allowed. Because of that, the city has a cool vibe to it and what is more – the trams are really quiet – very important. Many quarters of Freiburg were built by the standards of sustainability and for that we salute them.

solarsiedlung1.jpg

The new solar village Sonnenschiff built by a german solar architect Rolf Disch is an eco marvel. ”Natural resources are being taken into consideration in the Solar Community at Schlierberg as far as the overall construction concept, the choice of materials and the water and energy system are concerned. Inhabitants are encouraged to get creative by the aesthetic design, incidental costs and expenses are low, and there is an efficient system of ecological mobility by public transport, by bike or on foot.”

img_ssd_d28_13_lrg.jpg solarsiedlung2.jpg hausreihe_balkone_schlierberg.jpg reihe_von_oben.jpg

Keep it up Freiburg! I hope I’ll get the chance to visit soon again.

(via: TreeHugger, photo credit: Solarsiedlung.de)

8 Responses to “Solarsiedlung Freiburg | Rolf Disch”


  1. 1 kate herrod February 2, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    I work at a non-profit in the US (www.communitygreens.org)
    and I will be making a presentation to a group of homebuilders about community greens as well as how much farther along the green movement is in Europe.
    I was wondering if I could use some of the slides that are depicted here on your web site of Rolg Disch’s solarsiedlung? I will of course give credit.

    If I don’t hear back from you, I will assume that it is okay.
    Thanks so very mbuch.

    Kate Herrod, Director
    Communtiy Greens, an initiative of Ashoka: Innovators for the Public
    1700 North Moore St, suite 2000
    Arlington, VA 22209
    http://www.communitygreens.org

  2. 2 Cassie Bryant October 5, 2009 at 5:54 am

    Hello,
    I work for a non-profit, educational organization called Coral Watch, in conjunction with the University of Queensland in Brisbane, Australia. We are currently publishing an educational book on Coral Reefs and Climate Change and are 2 weeks away from going to press. We are seeking original sources of the last few of our photos and was hoping we would be granted permission to use the image of the solar houses in Freiburg in our publication. Please let me know as soon as possible if this is acceptable. Thank you so much for your help and consideration.
    All the best,
    Cassie

  3. 3 wai November 14, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Hi Cassie

    I’d love to grant you permission, unfortunately I’m not the author of the photos. They were taken off of their webpage so it’s best you turn to them.

    Good luck with your publication and I’m sorry for the late reply!

  4. 4 sacha December 16, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    what is the year of the construction ?

  5. 5 outbound calls January 23, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on
    this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  6. 6 sales mistakes February 15, 2013 at 11:31 am

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after browsing through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it
    and checking back regularly!

  7. 7 cold calling for cowards March 8, 2013 at 8:34 am

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you really realize what you are talking approximately!
    Bookmarked. Please also discuss with my website =).

    We may have a link trade contract among us


  1. 1 Solar – Social Good Trackback on October 1, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Leave a comment




January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Add to Technorati Favorites