March 22nd | World Water Day

Video: UNICEF's Tap Project

In 1992 The UN General Assembly proclaimed March 22nd as World Water Day. They wanted to draw international attention to the lack of clean drinking water around the globe. About 20% of the World’s population, that is 1.1 billion people, lack access to safe drinking water. The lack of clean water kills about 4500 children per day. Water stressed countries posses a third of the World’s population which mostly contains of Third World residents, Sub-Saharan Africans and South Asians. The clean water issue is much greater though; those countries cannot develop properly with no knowledge of basic hygiene and lack of basic sanitation.

Please continue reading, your attention is crucial.

thetapproject.jpg

The Tap Project by UNICEF (video above) aims to draw attention to the issue as well. Their Tap Project will help provide children with drinking water by gaining money using people’s everyday habits – eating out. The project is underway in NYC where all the major restaurants took the initiative and started charging $1 for the glass of water people usually get for free. With that $1 a child can drink safe water for 40 days.

The water issue in ‘the western world’ is different. A lot of people drink bottled water. Why? Let’s all buy water in plastic bottles; oh and let’s ship it around – it only takes a genius to come up with that idea. The current trend of drinking your water out of plastic is a load of crap. Our tap water is absolutely fine and you thinking our water is contaminated to the point it’s unhealthy is merely an indicator of how ‘successful’ advertising/ capitalism can be. Read Kako vam prodati to, kar ze imate at Drug Dom (Slovenian). It’s very hard for a human to comprehend large numbers so here’s a visual by Chris Jordan and see his talk at Pop!Tech while you’re at it:

chrisjordan_plasticbottles.jpg

Bottled Water: Chris Jordan

We live in a world where we take water for granted. Which brings me to my second point: water consumption. We never pay attention to the amounts of water we use every day. And I’m not taking about pouring it in a glass and drinking it, because that’s fine. I’m referring to how much water it takes to make stuff. We’re all too lazy to read stats because they bore us, we’re more interested in pretty pictures than we are in facts; luckily we have graphic design students. A German design student Tim Kekeritz (The virtual water project) designed a poster with graphics demonstrating the water footprints of what we eat and use. Click on the image below to view a slideshow of the rest of the graphics.

virtualwater_beef.jpg

Many thanks to my girl Nastja for the video :*

21 Responses to “March 22nd | World Water Day”


  1. 1 nikpi March 22, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    This is an amazing post! Thank you very much for writing it!

    I have just completed a project on social effects of privatization of water; my group mates worked on environmental, health, and such topics. It is disgusting to see how wasteful we often are with water, especially how hidden this waste often is (i.e. in production, etc.).

    Again: thank you!

  2. 2 wai March 23, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Thank you Nik =) Good luck with your studies.
    P.

  3. 3 anaheim hills virtual office July 28, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    I blog often and I genuinely thank you for your content.

    Your article has really peaked my interest.
    I will book mark your website and keep checking for new details about once per week.

    I opted in for your Feed as well.

  4. 4 clean colon June 9, 2014 at 4:58 am

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to
    your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  5. 5 coleus forskohlii June 11, 2014 at 1:56 am

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the greatest websites on the web.
    I’m going to recommend this website!

  6. 6 shopping handbag online July 12, 2014 at 9:48 am

    You could definitely see your skills in the work you write.

    The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you
    who are not afraid to mention how they believe.

    Always go after your heart.

  7. 7 seo moz July 16, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    Hi! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old
    room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward
    this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  8. 8 collagen cream July 17, 2014 at 7:04 am

    My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  9. 9 reputation definition July 17, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually believe this amazing site needs a
    lot more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the advice!

  10. 10 cholecalciferol July 19, 2014 at 8:23 pm

    I read this paragraph completely concerning the
    comparison of newest and previous technologies, it’s awesome
    article.

  11. 11 home builders melbourne July 21, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any
    widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time
    and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with
    something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.

    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  12. 12 http://seagull.aq.upm.es/aqweb/trac.cgi/ticket/696856 July 31, 2014 at 4:48 am

    whoah this weblog is wonderful i love reading your posts.
    Stay up the good work! You realize, a lot of individuals are hunting
    around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  13. 13 mygaming.me August 1, 2014 at 7:10 am

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.
    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back down the road.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

  14. 14 flexible dieting August 3, 2014 at 8:57 am

    You should take part in a contest for one of the highest
    quality sites on the web. I’m going to highly recommend this web site!

  15. 15 Muscle Pills August 6, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    Magnificent items from you, man. I’ve bear in mind your stuff previous to and
    you’re just too wonderful. I really like what you have acquired
    right here, certainly like what you are stating and the best way by which you say it.
    You are making it enjoyable and you still take care of to stay it sensible.
    I cant wait to learn much more from you. That is really a great
    web site.

  16. 16 homepage August 6, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    Hello, every time i used to check webpage posts here
    in the early hours in the dawn, since i love to learn more
    and more.

  17. 17 how to lose weight by dieting August 7, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Link exchange is nothing else but it is only placing the
    other person’s web site link on your page at suitable
    place and other person will also do same in favor of you.

  18. 18 diet tips and fitness goals reviews September 22, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    It’s the best time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I have learn this post and if I may I want to suggest you some attention-grabbing issues or
    suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles relating to
    this article. I wish to learn more issues approximately it!

  19. 19 lolalago.ru September 25, 2014 at 5:35 am

    Howdy! This post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I am going to forward this
    post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

  20. 20 Fitness Goal app September 25, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    It’s genuinely very complex in this busy life
    to listen news on Television, thus I simply use
    web for that reason, and get the hottest information.


  1. 1 Future Wars: Water Wars « From My Eyes To Yours Trackback on March 22, 2008 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

