Therme Vals | Peter Zumthor

thermalbaths_peterzumthor.jpg

This project was finished in 1996 and it’s no news, i know, but I simply want to have it on the blog because I love the project, so here it is. Built from the local stone, the building is located in a remote area high up in a mountain and is mimicking a cave. The soothing interior is designed for the soul with the help of some amazing lighting and water surfaces. I’m sure you all know a lot a bout it already so I won’t waste words on it and leave you with a slideshow (olotini Flickr album) and the Thermae of stone documentary. By far one of my favourite buildings probably ever built.

slidesnow: click
documentary after the jump

Thermae of stone

2 Responses to “Therme Vals | Peter Zumthor”


  1. 1 sílvio April 14, 2009 at 6:40 am

    A very special project and perfect construction with the combinations of the essential natural materials and the place character.

  2. 2 http://materiautheque.fr June 3, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    Hey there would you mind letting me know which web host
    you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and
    I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a fair price?
    Kudos, I appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

