Working For The Mayjah Starchitect

sanaa.jpg

For all of you who think that working for an architectural studio of a high profile, such as SANAA of Kazuyo Seijima and Ryue Nishizawa, is a joyful experience filled with rainbows and unicorns, this is proof of how mistaken you are. An architecture student blogged about her experience as an intern at SANAA in Tokyo and what was told is not pretty. We’ve all probably worked at a studio before and it can get frustrating, I’ll agree. But it was never anything like this story – working for free, all the time. I strongly disagree with the statement they usually throw in your face – that you should be glad you’re even a part of the team and will benefit from the internship in a way money can never cover. Understandably don’t let you do the concept, or let you pick the materials, or define the structure; you are not a part of the creative process and we all know what’s left for us to do. But the conditions you live and work under are dehumanized beyond belief. It has become a common thing that architecture students are treated that way and it is wrong. Can big studios today even sustain without the (nearly) free flow of students/ graduates? What is sad is that when you come to a point in your life when you need to get employed, the portfolio with the ‘starchitects internee’ written on will probably nail you the job – when the employers themselves know it’s a load of crap. The circle is vicious. I hope they’re providing her with food and shelter but they probably switched meals with food pills years ago.


They took the translation off the internet already and the student seems to have locked the blog and made it accessible to firiends only. But it’s ok and I completely understand the situation. It’s fragile and can cost one the internship, althought it shouldn’t. This is how it is. So here are some snippets of it:

”Most interns work as I do, for free for about 5 months. In addition to the large office space, there is a model room. This space is twice as small and twice as chaotic.”

”Around 11 o’clock I went to work. I had to bring my own laptop because of the lack of computers. And to see that there was a lack of space. ”

”Apparently here you fight for your own square meter to get a reasonable amount of space to work.”

”These working conditions would qualifiy as illegal back home .”

(Google Translate/) ”The working conditions in the workspace would Up Netherlands illegally hesitate to call. Thirty man works, eats, smokes and sleeps in a room without light. The furniture is high to be replaced; chairs and tables are missing arms held together with tape. And then the working… Itself in Japan are known for their architectural long days, so that says something. Six, but often enough even seven days a week, everybody drops between 12 and 16 hours inside and not leave the area for 12 hours later. Except than even a microwave meal convienent to get to the store, then back to the computer to eat. From sleeping colleagues, I look no longer, you can find them everywhere: on the ground, in front of his computer at the bank. The bureau is open 24 hours a day, which is very useful for the time difference with the current projects in Mexico, France and Germany. I am happy for an excuse to 12 hours to leave the office, then my last train. Then I feel a little guilty because I am one of the first to leave. Apparently, the more accepted for late than early way to go. But so do I, in any case still a reasonable life after. Unless I miss this train of course, then I caught on the desktop until the first train, at 5 o’clock in the morning.

Where I still remain the most surprised about is the chaos at the office, the rubbish and the inefficient way in which certain things are arranged. And while SANAA has become so famous for their bright shapes and simple solutions, which gives a lot of light and transparent materials are used. What a contrast with their own desk.” (/Google Translate)

21 Responses to “Working For The Mayjah Starchitect”


  1. 1 ex intern April 19, 2008 at 9:02 am

    no, of course they don’t provide food or shelter..

  2. 2 wai April 19, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    That’s what I thought.

  3. 3 Courtney Fromberg March 18, 2009 at 6:46 am

    YIKES!

  4. 4 Olivier Jacques April 1, 2010 at 7:47 am

    It would be a pleasure for me to share similar (sometimes worst) stories about Atelier Bow-Wow. Working as an architect in Japan is filled with fear and trembling…

    • 5 wai April 14, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      Is it now? Dang. Pease do share, maybe I don’t want to go work in Japan after all.

    • 6 Edouard Marechal April 14, 2010 at 9:36 pm

      Interesting article.

      Hey Mr Jacques it would be really interesting for me to hear a little bit about how are the conditions at Bow Wow office.

      I was planing to try to get an internship at this office.

      Hope to read something in the next week.

      Ciao

  5. 7 gojiactives July 29, 2013 at 4:38 am

    I think this is among the so much important info for me. And i’m satisfied reading your article. But wanna statement on some basic things, The web site taste is wonderful, the articles is truly excellent : D. Good task, cheers

  6. 8 Trista April 11, 2014 at 1:20 am

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it
    up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later.
    All the best

  7. 9 Kingsroad Hack June 21, 2014 at 10:25 pm

    Kings Street Hack, Kings Road Cheat, Kings Road Hack Tool or you can call it nevertheless, you want,
    but in the event that you are looking for 100% working Hack for Facebooks Kings Road then you simply found it.
    Layered clothing is more effective in extreme cold or snowy conditions.
    These days, tons of people are choosing to undergo credit debt loan consolidations.

  8. 10 youtube.com June 23, 2014 at 1:10 am

    The ability of our enemy to literally ‘shake the towers
    of history’ so to speak and bring us into such a warring
    scenario should not be forgotten. Yes, – if you remain firm, and act aright, even if the enemy should rush here on you in hot haste,
    your Lord would help you with five thousands angels
    making a terrific onslaught. If you don’t like the way things are going then GET OUT AND VOTE.

  9. 11 http://zachejudkins.buzznet.com July 17, 2014 at 8:56 am

    My brother recommended I might like this web site.
    He was entirely right. This post actually made my day.

    You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  10. 12 Keraplex Bio Eua July 18, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    Excellent way of describing, and pleasant post to obtain information concerning my presentation focus, which i am going
    to deliver in school.

  11. 13 goji slim pros e contras August 28, 2014 at 1:46 am

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, but before end
    I am reading this great paragraph to improve my knowledge.

  12. 14 duboisproed.org September 10, 2014 at 12:07 am

    Thanks , I have just been searching for information approximately
    this subject for a long time and yours is the best
    I have found out till now. However, what about the
    bottom line? Are you positive concerning the source?

  13. 15 wieviel goji beeren pro tag September 19, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    If some one wishes to be updated with most up-to-date
    technologies then he must be pay a visit this web page and be up
    to date daily.

  14. 16 www.homeworkhub.co.za October 8, 2014 at 3:24 am

    Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a
    blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright
    clear concept

  15. 17 Monteklearningsolutions.com October 8, 2014 at 11:37 am

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site.

    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your
    theme? Great work!

  16. 18 somatodrol formula October 8, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your site, how could i subscribe for
    a weblog web site? The account aided me a appropriate deal.
    I were tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered shiny clear idea

  17. 19 College January 2, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    With havin so much content ddo you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?

    My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either create myself or outsourced but
    it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any solutions to help
    stop content frm being stolen? I’d ggenuinely appreciate it.

  18. 20 hack January 30, 2016 at 2:43 pm

    It’s amazing in favor of me to have a web site, which is helpful designed for my know-how.

    thanks admin


  1. 1 A Look at SANAAs Relationship as They Ready the Serpentine Pavilion | Trackback on June 25, 2009 at 2:03 am

Leave a Reply

